Conferences

 

Friends of the MASC Programme of Lectures (in French)

Salle des conférences (Lecture hall) – 6.30 pm – Free admission

- Alain Séchas, artiste - (Alan Séchas, the artist)
by Jean-Marc Huitorel, art critic
Saturday 15 September 2018

- Les expressionnistes face à la guerre - (The Expressionists in the face of war)
by Itzhak Goldberg, art critic
Thursday 8 November 2018

- Les autoportraits peints et gravés d’Otto Dix - (The Self-portraits of Otto Dix in paintings and prints)
by Marie Gispert, lecturer in contemporary art history at Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne
Thursday 15 November 2018

- Réinventer la pensée sauvage : Victor Brauner - (Reinventing untamed thought: Victor Brauner)
by Didier Semin, professor at the Ecole nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris (ENSBA)
Thursday 13 December 2018

- Facchetti et Laubiès : une galerie, une rencontre - (Facchetti and Laubiès: a gallery, an encounter)
by Frédérique Villemur, art historian, lecturer at the École nationale supérieure d’architecture de Montpellier (ENSAM)
Thursday 28 February 2019

- Cobra, une explosion artistique et poétique au cœur du XXe siècle - (CoBrA, an explosion of art and poetry at the heart of the 20th century)
by Victor Vanoosten, art historian, doctoral student in art history at Sciences Po Paris
Thursday 14 March 2019

- Œuvrer à plusieurs : pratique de co-création - (Working with others: the practice of co-creation)
by Véronique Goudinoux, contemporary art historian and theoretician, professor at Université de Lille
Thursday 21 March 2019

- René Laubiès et l’Asie - (René Laubiès and Asia)
by Judith Delfiner, editor-in-chief of Perspective. Actualité en histoire de l’art magazine
Thursday 25 April 2019

A lecture programme organised with the support of the State – Prefect of the Pays de la Loire region – Regional Directorate of Cultural Affairs

Art History Programme of Lectures (in French)

Salle des conférences (Lecture hall) – Free admission

Speaker: Priscilla Giboteau

The new 2018-2019 cycle of lectures follows on from the previous series. It looks at the major periods in art history by focussing on a particular artist, piece of architecture, work or artistic movement, always with the idea of exploring the different facets of art.

- Religious revolution in Ancient Egypt: Akhenaten and Amarna art
Tuesday 2 October 2018 at 6.00 pm
Wednesday 3 October 2018 at 2.30 pm

- From Paleochristian to Byzantine art: the mosaics of Ravenna
Tuesday 20 November 2018 at 6.00 pm
Wednesday 21 November 2018 at 2.30 pm

- The fantastic world of Jérôme Bosch
Tuesday 4 December 2018 at 6.00 pm
Friday 7 December 2018 at 2.30 pm

- The art of gardens and its evolution from the Middle Ages to the 19th century
Tuesday 8 January 2019 at 6.00 pm
Wednesday 9 January 2019 at 2.30 pm

- French architecture under the Valois: the School of Fontainebleau and the Italian heritage
Tuesday 5 February 2019 at 6.00 pm
Wednesday 6 February 2019 at 2.30 pm

- From Caravaggio to the “Caravaggisti”
Tuesday 5 March 2019 at 6.00 pm
Wednesday 6 March 2019 at 2.30 pm

- The art of fleeting sensation: Impressionism
Tuesday 2 April 2019 at 6.00 pm
Wednesday 3 April 2019 at 2.30 pm